Day 13 – Trees by IKEA   2 comments

Today we temporarily leave the cold behind us. The kind folks who forecast our weather are promising temperatures hovering around 0C for the next week, making outdoor photography much more comfortable.

Now that I’m posting a picture everyday, I keep my camera by my side whenever I am out and about. You never know when the next great opportunity is going to present itself. On my way home today I drove past IKEA. Particularly in the monochrome winter landscape, IKEA’s trademark blue and yellow building is quite striking.

It was snowing hard (as is the norm here lately!) so I had some choices to make in terms of shutter speed. Shoot slow and capture the motion of the snow or shoot fast and freeze the scene. I tried variations from 1/8s (keep those hands steady!) to 1/200s and settled on 1/60s.



Technical details: ISO 50, F9.0, 1/60s, 50mm
Photoshop mods: Shadow/Highlight tool to bring out the texture in the snow, curves to enhance contrast of falling snow on wall

Posted 18/01/2011 by Mike Moruzi in Winter

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Day 13 – Trees by IKEA

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love this!

  2. Another goodie. I have always personally liked pictures with 1 predominant colour. This is a great example.

Leave a Reply

