Day 14 – Basketball anyone? Anyone?   6 comments

Until now I have not dipped my toes into Flickr. There are millions upon millions of photos populating the Flickr databases. In fact, on my last visit to the homepage 3,567 photos had been uploaded in just the last minute. That translates to more than 200,000 pictures per hour! Or more than 5,000,000 in a day!

Despite being unsure of the value of adding a few drops of photos to this veritable ocean of photography, I decided to try. I will now be publishing to Flickr my favourite photos that I take for this blog, but in the end do not select.

It will take me a little while to get caught up and get the backlog loaded into my photostream, but if you are interested in the other pictures you can find them at http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikemoruzi/. I have added a permanent link to my photostream on the right-hand side under the Blogroll (see My Flickr Pages).

On to today’s photo… I shot the photo below at a local high school using my lensbaby. If you do not know what that is, check out http://www.lensbaby.com/. They are very cool lenses. I have an old one called the Lensbaby 2.0. It looks like the new Muse.

It is an extremely simple lens with a highly selective focus area that you can move around the frame. Focusing is achieved by pushing the outer element of the lens out or pulling it in. The aperture is set by manually swapping out disks, each with a fixed aperture.

Given it’s unusual nature, it will never be my everyday lens, but I love it when I am trying to achieve something a bit more unique. These basketball hoops are standing in some very deep untouched snow. There are a dozen hoops, all looking like they could use a bit of attention.

Technical details: ISO 100, F8.0, 1/320s, lensbaby
Photoshop mods: Curves to enhance contrast and saturation, decreased luminance of blue channel to bring out cloud details

6 responses to “Day 14 – Basketball anyone? Anyone?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Mike,
    I’m seeing Edmonton in a new way with your photos. Your blog is part of my morning tea routine, so you can’t stop now, …you have customers 🙂

  2. Very interesting. And I’m with the blogger below/above…you’ve got customers!

  3. Cool picture. Love it. -Kim

  4. I like that focus.

Leave a Reply

