Day 16 – Oh Goody! It’s Snowing Again!   2 comments

We’ve had so much snow in Edmonton this winter, I’m starting to run out of places to put it. The snow banks are my height in places. Of course, considering my conservative stature, perhaps it’s not all that bad.

Tonight it is snowing again and coming down hard. I don’t know yet if we’re breaking Edmonton snow fall records, but we must be coming close. The snow plows can’t keep up. For two weeks now, most of the residential streets have been unplowed. With all the snow, the street level is now higher than the foot path in some places!

Residential street plowing was supposed to start last week, but was delayed when we were hit again by more snow. The city council has rescinded the noise bylaw that prohibits residential plowing at night so we can expect to hear the plows at any moment. While I’m excited about the streets getting driveable again, I have mixed feelings about the 3am wake-ups.

This afternoon I spent half an hour trying to help dig a neighbour’s car out. She was very very stuck in the laneway beside her house. Sadly all I did was help her move back about three metres. Her car had bellied out on the snow with the wheels in some seriously deep ruts. Good thing a more useful neighbour came by with his 4×4 and a tow rope. He solved the problem in about five minutes. So much for all my shovelling and pushing.

On the bright side, all this snow has helped me rediscover my love for alpine skiing. I am even teaching the kids now. This is their first time living in a winter climate with access to winter sports. Their enjoyment of winter sports makes all this snow worthwhile.


Technical details: ISO 100, F6.3, 1/60s (panning), 90mm
Photoshop mods: Curves to enhance contrast and saturate colours, shadows/highlights tool to increase texture in snow, added layer with emboss filter blended with multiply at 50% to sharpen the edges

Posted 21/01/2011 by Mike Moruzi in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Day 16 – Oh Goody! It’s Snowing Again!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read: “This afternoon I spent half an hour trying to help dig a neighbour’s CAT out. She was very very stuck in the laneway beside her house.” Oops! Love the photo. My turn to ski this weekend!

  2. Nope. I’m too allergic to cats. She would have had to get the cat out herself!

Leave a Reply

