Day 26 – The Australian Rockies   2 comments

As mentioned yesterday, we spent the weekend in Jasper. For those of you who don’t know, Jasper National Park is on the east side of the Canadian Rockies halfway up the province of Alberta. In the winter, Jasper is the home base for skiers heading up to Marmot Basin. The skiing was fantastic!

There were no crowds (January appears to be a bit of a low season) so we barely waited for the lifts. If you go all the way to the top, it can easily take 20 minutes to ski down. There was a lot of low cloud cover on our first day, but the skies cleared on our second day to reveal the whole resort.

What I didn’t expect (and maybe I should have) was how many of the staff at Marmot Basin and in the Jasper hotels are Australian. Nearly half the people I spoke to or overheard were Aussies. There was even the odd Kiwi thrown in for a bit of diversity (fush and chups anyone?). I remember the same thing when we visited Whistler/Blackcomb some years ago.

I wonder if Australians are drawn to good skiing the world over. Or is there something particularly special about the Canadian Rockies that make them feel more at home? For me, it was a pleasure to hear the familiar accents.

Below is Pyramid Mountain, with an elevation of 2,766m. It is the highest peak near Jasper and provides a stunning backdrop to the town.

Technical details: ISO 100, F16, 1/100s, 32mm
Photoshop mods: Curves to enhance contrast

2 responses to “Day 26 – The Australian Rockies

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like most of it – I probably would have cropped the trees on the left, I think they distract more than they add. I would have gone tighter on mountains and reflection, but that’s just me.

    • I probably agree. At the time I was considering the trees part of the foreground to provide context and depth, but the reflection on the river accomplishes that already. Thanks for the comments.

Leave a Reply

