Day 33 – Turkey Cranberry Ravioli   4 comments

By now, most people will have gone through all their turkey leftovers from December, but apparently not me. I had two packets of diced turkey in the freezer so for today, I recreated something I crafted shortly after Christmas. At the time, I was trying to think what else I could do with leftovers and the idea of turkey and cranberry sauce ravioli seemed like a great way to clean out the fridge. It was a hit at Christmas, so I hoped I could do it again.

This dish has no proper recipe since I just made it up myself though I have since discovered (no surprise) that I’m not the first person to try this. So there is a recipe out there but why use someone else’s recipe when I can risk destroying it all by myself?

Pasta is dead easy so no worries there. The turkey’s cooked already so that’s pretty straightforward. Cranberry sauce is mostly just cranberries. I just have to get the turkey to cranberry ratio right.

Well, it turns out I didn’t quite get the ratio right. There was a bit too much cranberry sauce for the amount of turkey I used. Still tasted great, but the I’ll pull back on the cranberries a bit next time. I even wrote down the recipe this time (adjusted to use fewer cranberries).

The photo shoot was straightforward. Despite the strong recommendations I read on FoodPress yesterday, I used artificial lighting because natural light in my kitchen is done and gone by about 11am.

I used a simple white plate sitting on white matte board. I used to Canon 550EX flashes – one to provide a soft top/front light (bounced off a white reflector) and the other to blow out the white background.  I used my smallest macro tube (12mm) with my 100mm lens to get in a bit closer.

Technical details: ISO 200, 1/100s, f8.0, 100mm
Photoshop mods: Levels to fine tune lighting

 

Recipe (just in case you’re interested)

Pasta:
– 500 gm plain (all-purpose) flour
– 5 eggs

Filling:
– 175 gm of finely chopped turkey
– 75-100 gm of frozen cranberries
– juice of one orange
– 1 tspn of sugar
– 2/3 cup parmesan

Alfredo sauce:
– 1 cup heavy cream
– 2tbsp butter
– 2/3 cup parmesan

Put the flour in a medium-large bowl. Form a hole in the centre and fill with five eggs. Use a fork to scramble the eggs gradually drawing in the flour to form a dough. Once roughly mixed, shift to the counter top to knead the dough together. Keep a small cup of water on hand. If the dough is too dry, just add enough water to get it to the right consistency. Dough should be firm and smooth to the touch, not sticky. Wrap the dough in cling wrap and put it in the fridge to rest.

Put the cranberries in a small saucepan with the juice of one orange and a teaspoon of sugar. Place over medium-low heat and keep half an eye on it while you get on with the turkey.

If your turkey is still in big pieces, now is the time to finely chop it. You can use a food processor if you have one or just grab a big knife. Chop the turkey into very fine pieces.

Stire the cranberry sauce occasionally (you wouldn’t want it to burn!). It takes 5 to 10 minutes to start to thicken. Break up the berries with a fork or potato masher and you’re all set. Add the sauce to the turkey and mix in 2/3 cup of parmesan. Set the filling aside and retrieve the pasta from the fridge.

I use a pasta machine to roll the pasta into thin sheets. I then lay one sheet over a ravioli maker filling each ravioli with filling and then press a second sheet over the top. Some vigorous rolling with a rolling-pin and presto-chango we have ravioli. The one thing I strongly recommend with the ravioli maker is liberal use of flour to make sure your ravs don’t stick.

Make sure you have a sous-chef on hand to prep the alfredo sauce while you’re making the ravioli. They just need to bring the cream and butter to a boil, simmer it on low heat for one minute and then stir in the parmesan. Stir quickly and continuously or it will burn or separate (yuck!).

Top off the pasta and sauce with a little parmesan and cracked pepper and serve.

4 responses to “Day 33 – Turkey Cranberry Ravioli

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds – and looks – delicious!

  2. Very yummy! Good job Mike.

  3. That looks good.. and I don’t even like turkey or ravioli.

  4. I HAVE to stop reading your blog before I eat breakfast!! 😛 Thanx for the info.

Leave a Reply

