Day 36 – Maple Fudge   6 comments

I learned how to make fudge 10 or 11 years ago. I have always had a serious sweet tooth (despite its recent waning) and fudge has been a definite favourite. A skiing trip to Whistler, BC (a long time ago!) is the first time I recall visiting the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory. When my wife and I moved to Vancouver from Wellington, New Zealand a little over a decade ago, the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory was back on my doorstep. But I decided it would be more fun to make my own.

Fudge is time consuming – this is a high-effort dessert. It takes time, a lot of attention and patience. Turnaround time on a batch of fudge is typically about three hours. It includes frequent stirring (until it comes to a boil), then frequent thermometer checking, then waiting for it to cool, then stirring again until just the right moment when you reckon it’s about to candy. Then you have to get it into the pan quickly. If you’re too slow (as I’ve sometimes been) you end up with a pot full of solidified fudge which you now have to chop out in chunks. Not pretty.

My go-to book for fudge recipes is Oh Fudge! by Lee Edwards Benning. It has more recipes than anyone (other than Lee apparently) would ever try and more varieties than I ever knew existed. My favourites are a chocolate, almond, sour cream fudge and triple-rich caramel fudge.

If you’re going to go to the effort to make fudge, you don’t just make a little bit, you make about a kilogram (or 2 pounds). That’s a lot of fudge to eat all by yourself. Of course, you could freeze it and dole it out over time or, better yet, you can share it with friends. I used to bring in batches of the stuff to work where I marveled at how quickly it disappeared!

My kids still love fudge, but it’s gone out of fashion a bit at our house. It’s just a bit too rich for me now. Thankfully, today I didn’t even have to make the fudge because I had some leftover from a batch I made before Christmas. These three little squares (below) are the last of the batch.

Technical details: ISO 100, 1/100s, f8.0 and f2.0, 100mm (with 20mm macro ring)
Photoshop mods: Levels to smooth out the whites, some saturation, lots of cropping and layers for the layout

6 responses to “Day 36 – Maple Fudge

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. O good grief… shouldnt have read this on an empty stomach! looks divine, and its been years since i’ve made fudge too… perhaps its time to give it a go again.

  2. Looks great,,, nice shot to..

  3. Those looks yummy and you have to stop teasing us with your baked goodies shots. Tea and fudge sounds perfect.

    I like the way you have put these together.

  4. Yum! Looks delicious!

    I never could get the hang of making fudge. Too impatient, maybe. It’s been a long time since I’ve tried. Might be worth trying again someday.

    • Some of the best fudge I ever tasted is also the easiest – In a pot, combine 1 2/3 cups sugar and 2/3 cup evaporated milk. Simmer for five minutes, then remove from heat and add 1 1/2 cups of mini marshmallows, 1/2 cups chocolate chips, 1/2 nuts (if you want). 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp salt. Stir it til it all melts and pour into a buttered 8 or 9″ pan. Let cool and devour!

  5. I agree with Sasi (although, for the record…he does the same thing with food on his blog)! I’ve never had fudge with my tea, I will have to try that one day. Excellent job.

Leave a Reply

