Day 38 – Pizza!   7 comments

As mentioned last Friday, Friday’s are movie night, pizza night, and pop night. While there are occasionally exceptions when the pizza comes from the “pizza store” (as my five-year-old likes to call it) it is almost always homemade. I got my pizza dough recipe (see below) from a good friend in Vancouver nearly 10 years ago. It’s the best I’ve found so far.

The dough is the most fun part of the process. Once the dough has risen, I like to flatten it and then throw it spinning in the air to get it to the right size and thickness. Sometimes it gets dropped, but never on the floor. More often than not, there’s flour flying in every direction and there’s a fair bit of cleanup after the fact.

Once the dough is ready, I make the pizza in thirds – one third for the kids, one third for my wife, and one third for me. The kids have Hawaiian with pepperoni and my wife and I mix it up each week, I’m partial to peppers, she’s partial to mushrooms. On top, I use a mix of mozzarella, cheddar, and parmesan. I keep the wet ingredients to a minimum to avoid the dreaded soggy-crust syndrome. Finally, after the toppings are all on, I brush the crust with olive oil to give it crispness and colour. It goes in a hot oven for 15 minutes.

Based on a movie recommendation from last week, we rented Land Before Time (the original – not one of the sequels) and it was a hit with the kids. That’s good, because I learned all the old kids movies at our rental shop are just $1/week. Who can beat that?!

Technical details: ISO 100, 1/100s,  f2.0, 100mm (with 12mm extension tube)
Photoshop mods: Slight crop

Pizza dough recipe

1. Mix together 250 gm (1 1/2 cups) flour, 1 tbsp (11 gm) dry active yeast, 1/4 tsp salt
2. Dissolve 1 tsp sugar in 3/4 cup warm water and add to flour mixture
3. Once well mixed (i.e., homogeneous) , knead in 1 tbsp (or more) olive oil
4. Shape into a ball and let it rise for at least 30 mins.

 

 

 

Posted 12/02/2011 by Mike Moruzi in Food

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Day 38 – Pizza!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That pizza looks awesome. And I LOVED The Land Before Time! Hope Kate and Sarah enjoyed it:)

  2. That looks yummy!

    Can’t beat the taste of homemade pizza from scratch. Have done that multiple times and it’s one of those things that the whole family could involve.

  3. What a tantalizing photo! Gotta go tell Ian to heat up the oven and take out the pizza peel and stone ‘cuz my mouth is watering!

  4. Looks yummy! Glad you had fun!

  5. Our movie night is usually on Saturday, I think we might have to try this next week! Thank you for sharing.

  6. This picture is fabulous; its fascinating combination of in/definition and constrasts–the dark pieces of meat atop and embedded in the many coloured cheeses, the cheese strings pulling as one piece is separated from the pie, the thin line between the crust and the toppings, the blurring of the edges–captures the nature of pizza. Really, great…

Leave a Reply

