Day 44 – Birds of the Desert   9 comments

I spent this afternoon at the Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix with my father. They have an impressive array of cacti on display – far more than I ever knew existed. I enjoy shooting plants, but I love shooting birds and the garden attracts lots of local birds including hummingbirds, wren, quail, and woodpeckers. For bird watching, I haul around a nice big zoom lens. It’s a bit heavy, but it’s worth the extra load for the chance to get up close to birds like these.

9 responses to “Day 44 – Birds of the Desert

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These are amazing! Makes that big lens worth it, doesn’t it?

  2. Lovely birds shots. I like DOF in this series.

    shot#1 Nice framing
    shot#2 I like how the birds beak lines up with the spikes in the background
    shot#3 Lovely colors and like the motion on the wings

  3. Mike,
    The food pics were not my favourite. But I really like these bird ones. Lovely. Cheers, Jeff

  4. These are wonderful. It’s amazing that you’ve captured the motion of the bird’s wings in the last one. Makes you think how hard they have to work just to have a little snack.

  5. Great images, love the DoF in the first image as well as the composition. Might be silly, but I am really digging the claw in the second shot and of course, the motion in the third. I really wish birds liked me enough to come out and let me capture them…it’ll be something I will work on this summer. 😀

  6. Lovely, but what bird is it? It looks like a baby sparrow!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

