Day 50 – Night at the Grand Canyon   12 comments

In just a day and a half at the Grand Canyon, I managed to capture 600 images. Some people will think that’s a lot. Some will think it’s not so many. What I do know is that it is enough for me to rest on my photographic laurels a bit this week and continue to work through a few more of my canyon images.

Going into this trip, I planned to generate some HDR images so I did a lot of bracketing to prepare. For the few people who haven’t heard of HDR, it stands for High Dynamic Range. It’s simply a way of extending the range of light that you can capture in a single image by combining bracketed images.

For those who want to learn all about HDR, go to Stuck in Customs.

This, my first attempt at HDR, was shot just after sunset at 6:21pm from Hopi point along the southern rim of the Grand Canyon.



Technical details
: ISO 200, 1/2s,  f14.0, 32mm
Photo mods: Generated three bracketed shots from one RAW file, combined and tone mapped with Photomatix Pro, adjusted levels, curves to fine tune lighting, used noise reduction filter to reduce noise generated from HDR process

12 responses to “Day 50 – Night at the Grand Canyon

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love it!

  2. Not a big fan of HDR, but this is just exceptional. I think you’ve converted me! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Rant Alert « Scenic SouthCoast

  4. It would be interesting to see the images used to generate this. That said, I really like it.

  5. Beautiful – a unique image of an iconic landscape. Creative imagination realized with evident skill. Well done, very well done.

  6. This is gorgeous, immediate bookmark. Slightly fantastic, (I guess that’s the HDR?) ,like looking back in time. I can hear drums…

  7. Nice shot. Might be a good candidate to re-do the HDR in black and white and see what you get.

  8. Great shot Mike! I love how clouds tend to turn out in HDR shots.

    • If the clouds have lots of texture on the day, the HDR processing really brings out the texture. Flat skies just turn out dark though, so I guess I was lucky in this case.

Leave a Reply

