Day 71 – Risking it all for the blog   68 comments

Despite appearances, the heritage theme continues. No historical facts today though as this is the High Level Bridge again – if you’re interested in when it was built, browse back a couple of days to Day 69. I like this shot as much or more than the first one I posted so I couldn’t resist including this one too, especially since it’s so different from my previous shot of the bridge.

I might have been exaggerating a little with the blog title today. While to me the photo suggests I’m standing in the middle of the road and the cars are swerving to avoid me, I was safely tucked behind a very solid railing at a corner just where the cars exit the bridge. Driving on the bridge always feels very tight and the walls don’t look very forgiving. There seems like there’s barely room for two lanes, especially with snow building up along the edges. I can only imagine what the drivers must have thought of this idiot leaning over the railing with a camera in hand (actually on tripod).

This is a single 30s exposure (look ma, no HDR!) converted to black and white using Silver Efex Pro 2.

68 responses to “Day 71 – Risking it all for the blog

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely shot Mike. Wonderful repetition on the frame and gives the feel I am in the tunnel.

  2. Thanks for the explanation. our header had me worried.
    Ma

  3. Nice shot Mike,interesting perspective,i assume the the cars are comin´at yer,as there are no red taillights.Nice post and if you were standing in the middle of the road you´d be posting this from the afterlife,anyone that does´nt understand that has been smokin´or drinkin´too much! Lovely shot ,a real inspiration,keep it up!

    • Cheers Adrian. Yep, the bridge is one way coming south toward me. I’m planning to catch the tail lights viewpoint another time, but that requires me to hop across a lane and stand behind a small barrier in the middle of the road!

  4. Great photo! You have got some interesting content. The website is a little bit buggy though.

  5. Nice shot, Mike!

  6. Great long exposure shot Mike, love the beams in the frame.

  7. Wonderful. Reminds me of Tron, which may or may not be a compliment, depending on how you feel about that film.

  8. Looks kinda like a spider’s web.

    melancholiastudioinc
  9. Sometimes when I include personal tidbits about family and friends in my daily blog, I too feel like I am risking it all for the blog! Great Photo.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

  10. Great Picture, great photography.

  11. Great shot. Congrats on Freshly Pressed.

  12. Cool, I’ve always wondered how these pictures were taken. Never knew it had to be life threatening though! Good job!

    All County Insurance - Brea, California
  13. Pingback: Day 71 – Risking it all for the blog (via In Search of Style) « Artopia 444 American Pop Culture Mashup

  14. very cool!!! congrats on fp’d!!

  15. Beautiful…I see it as a metaphoric image of our hectic lives

  16. hello Mike,
    I love the photo and enjoyed reading about how you captured it.
    I tend to do crazy things like stand in the middle of the road to get my shot too! However, none of my photos are anything like yours which is brilliant.
    Thanks for sharing
    Regards
    Cindy
    @notjustagranny
    http://www.3daysinlondon.info

  17. Whoa maginficent

  18. i loved the title…and the shot…xoxo

  19. Pret-ty cool…! Like the repitition of the beams, feel of speed and the tones used.

  20. I seriously almost have a full-on panic attack when I look at this pic. That means it’s brilliant, by the way…

    🙂

  21. I love this photo a lot. I really like how you used the light in this photo. Awesome job and post. Catchy title too!!

  22. Amazing photo! Congrats!

  23. Love this photo – keep up the rad work!

  24. Amazing shot! Great idea.

  25. Wow, this is phenomenal. Thank you for sharing!!

  26. Beautiful shot, Mike. 🙂

  27. I love this picture! I once tried to take a pic of the spot where Princess Diana crashed when in Paris. I say once, because anyone who has been there would know it looked just like this picture and you really have to risk your life (stupid!) to get a look at it. On the flip side, my son saw this and said it looked like linguini noodles (he must be hungry). Great post.

    The Compulsive Writer
  28. That’s freakin’ TIGHT! I love this pic! 🙂

  29. wow… that picture is amazing. (: congrats on FP!!

  30. Hey, Mike, Thanks for taking the risk so that the rest of us could enjoy your art. Glad you survived! Keep adding to the beauty of the world.

  31. Very cool and totally amazing!

  32. Nice shot! Looks like taken from a sci-fi movie!

  33. Pretty cool!!!

  34. Beautiful shot. Glad to hear you were safe in your taking this shot tucked behind the pillar.

  35. Great photo and i love how the effect of the light going towards the end of the tunnel.

    Thanks for sharing and looking forward to seeing your photos!

    Carpe diem! 🙂

  36. Congrats on Freshly Pressed!!!!!!!!! Great shot too, glad you were being safe!

  37. that looks so awesome!!! Great shot at the perfect moment!

    artfashionandhim
  38. nice 🙂

  39. Incredible image, bravo! They could make this a video game render of Tron 😛

  40. Cool pic!! It looks like some sort of electric octopus!

  41. Cool shot, Mike, and keep it up.

  42. Thanks for risking it all to give us such a great shot! It looks almost space like!

  43. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed! And your photo looks phenomenal!

  44. I’m loving this picture! I need to by myself a camera which has long exposure.

  45. Awesome shot, looks very futuristic and the bridge looks like some sort of metal spiders web, love it!

    Kieran Hamilton
  46. I love this photo – it could almost be the inside of an electricity cable.

  47. Awesome shot. I really like the blue of the tunnel against the white streaks of the car lights. Great job on this one!

  48. That is an awesome picture. Good to hear you aren’t really risking it :p I think my most adventurous photo shoot would have been when I was climbing Cradle mountain – with no harness.

  49. I was wondering how you were risking your life, haha, but a good photo bud and congrats on making the front page.

  50. This is incredible looking. I originally thought it was a subway tunnel too. Thanks for the inspiration!

  51. This is impressive. I like the bluish tone which enhance the feeling of this image a lot.
    Nice shot.

  52. Cool pix and so glad you are safe while taking it! 🙂

  53. Hey!
    It’s a great shot there! I like all your photos:)
    And I smiled when I saw this picture.
    Keep up the good work!
    🙂

  54. Great shot!

  55. It is an incredible to me.

  56. cool man

  57. Great image!

  58. I love this photo a lot. I really like how you used the light in this photo. Awesome job and post. Catchy title too!!

  59. This photograph is simply great. The way you’ve catched the move is incredible.

    It really is explicit that you’ve risked a lot for it, but it was worth the sacrifice! 😉 That’s the obvious expression of your interest on photography: otherwise, you wouldn’t take the risk 🙂

  60. Wow! What an amazing photo! *____* Gave me some inspiration!
    I wish I had a tripod though… and a good camera -__-

  61. I love this picture! I once tried to take a pic of the spot where Princess Diana crashed when in Paris. I say once, because anyone who has been there would know it looked just like this picture and you really have to risk your life (stupid!) to get a look at it. On the flip side, my son saw this and said it looked like linguini noodles (he must be hungry). Great post.

  62. Thank you for sharing content to read.

Leave a Reply

