Day 84 – What’s My Theme Again?   13 comments

You’d think my theme was currently bridges, but it’s still heritage sites. At least it is for a little while longer. This is the Walterdale Bridge, named for John Walter who had sprawling businesses on the south side of the river between this and the High Level Bridge.

The bridge was built in 1914 and, as previously mentioned here, put the final end to the ferry business. The bridge has reached the end of its useful life and a new bridge is scheduled to be built in 2013-14. (I’m not sure how they know that, but I’m sure some smart engineers have figured out exactly what is going on and how long it will be before the bridge becomes unsafe.) It will be in the same spot which makes me wonder if they’re demolishing this one or are somehow rebuilding around it. Given this is the main bridge into the city I can just imagine the disruptions that will be caused. Perhaps they can get some descendant of John Walter to put in a ferry service while the new bridge is being built!

Processing notes: This image was processed as an HDR shot from 11 exposures using Photomatix Pro. Once tone mapped in Photomatix, I brought it into Photoshop CS3 and used Nik Software’s Viveza 2 plug-in to selectively adjust brightness, contrast and saturation – particularly the bits of blue sky. I then used Nik Software’s Color Efex Pro 3 plug-in with the Tonal Contrast filter to add mid-tone and shadow contrast which brings up the contrast and structure substantially without touching the highlights. Finally, I added the frame using Silver Efex Pro 2 (also from Nik).

————

As a footnote, I really want to thank everyone who dropped by my blog yesterday and today and especially those who took the time to ‘Like’ a photo or leave a comment. Being Freshly Pressed felt like winning the WordPress lotto. It was such a pleasure to hear from so many people. What I really like about WordPress is the global audience. It brings a smile to my face when I get visitors from so far away as well as people who are practically my neighbours. Over the next few days I plan to visit the blogs of everyone who dropped by so I’ll see you there!

13 responses to “Day 84 – What’s My Theme Again?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The cool coloring is awesome on this one and I like how the bridge lines on the underside gets the eye to work through all the detail in the shot. On the side, I read your processing notes. I’ve been looking at the Nik software, and how it fits into the workflow with PS. Do you ever get any problems from moving the file from one plugin to the next? Issues with compression or artifacting?

    • Hey BB, thanks for the kind words! Re: your question, I’ve been using Silver Efex Pro for about three weeks and the rest of the Nik Software plug-ins for just one week. I find they work together well and haven’t had any issues applying multiple types of filters in sequence. I have watched a number of the Nik Software webinars (they’re free) over the last few weeks and everytime, the photographer running the webinar uses filter on top of filter on top of filter with no apparent problems. I’m only just getting across all the filters – there are 52 just in Color Efex Pro! They’re definitely worth trying. You can download them all for a free fully functional 15-day trial. The downside is that they’re really quite expensive. Attend a webinar though and you’ll get a code for a 15% discount.

      • Cool. Thanks for the Tip. Ever since I started a focused black & white project a ton of people have been pushing me toward the Silver Efex.

  2. Love the post processing and colouring in this shot, really nice detail!

    Kieran Hamilton
  3. Great HDR images. looks amazing

  4. Thank you for the processing notes, it’s always an interesting read (as is the rest of the write up)! 😀

  5. I am a huge fan of HDR and pushing the processing. I love it!!!

  6. I like it – and it was interesting to read about how you did it. And congrats on the Freshly Pressed!

  7. The coloring on the bridge is really great!

Leave a Reply

