Day 92 – Time with Family   1 comment

I took a walk in Mill Creek Ravine with my twin brother a couple of days ago. He was in Edmonton on a business trip so we happily had a rare chance to visit. My brothers (I have three) and folks have, for a long time, been concentrated west and southwest of Toronto. My wife and I, on the other hand, have been a bit more nomadic living on the west coast and in the southern hemisphere. That means we don’t see family nearly as much as we’d like so, it’s always a treat when I get to see them!

The picture above is the Mill Creek Trestle Bridge. It currently serves as a pedestrian bridge in the Mill Creek Ravine Park in Edmonton, but it was originally a rail bridge when it was built in 1902. It supported one of the first rail lines into the city.

Processing notes: I tried out HDR Efex Pro to process three bracketed (-2EV, 0EV, +2EV) shots of the bridge. I’m still experimenting with HDR Efex Pro so I’m not yet ready to decide if it’s better than Photomatix or not. One thing HDR Efex Pro has is a lot more presets to try out. This picture is based on a preset called Granny’s Attic. I fine tuned the settings, then brought it into Viveza to fine-tune the colour of the red(ish) railing to something I was happier with. I also added a bit of texture and tweaked the brightness in various spots. Lastly, I used Silver Efex Pro to add a slight white vignette and the border.

One response to “Day 92 – Time with Family

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Every time I look at this photo, I think I am seeing white water rushing in torrents under the bridge. And then I realise it’s snow. Somehow the snow suggests movement to me, which is cool, especially since snow, except when it’s falling, often suggests frozen immobility.

Leave a Reply

