Day 108 – Thorny Little Devil   1 comment

© mike moruzi | insearchofstyle.wordpress.comOne of my goals while in Uluru – Kata Tjuta National Park in the Northern Territory was to see and photograph a Thorny Devil. This little lizard is very hard to find – not just because they’re tiny (they only grow to 20cm), but also because of their colouring. They blend in beautifully with the soil of the Red Centre.

Leaving the family back at the resort, I set off to Kata Tjuta to do some hiking in the Valley of the Winds. On my way, I was speeding down the highway when I shot over what I thought was a piece of wood in the road. As this little piece of wood is receding in my rear view mirror, I thought the curve of the wood looked an awful lot like a Thorny Devil.

I almost dismissed it thinking I was just fooling myself hoping for a sighting. Surely it was just the piece of wood I originally suspected. But, I was alone in the car, the highway was completely empty of other cars and I wasn’t on a schedule so I stopped, turned around and headed back with my fingers crossed.

Obviously, it wasn’t a piece of wood.

I snapped on my telephoto lens, not wanting to scare him off before I got a photo, and proceeded to crawl around on the bitumen snapping shots from various angles. It never moved a muscle. I’m thinking one of its defensive tactics is to be really, really still and hope it’s not noticed. I considered picking him up and taking him off the road, but at the time, I didn’t know if any of those thorns were dangerous and who knows what effect my touching him could have. So, I just thanked him for crossing my path and patiently posing for photos and then went on my way.

One response to “Day 108 – Thorny Little Devil

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, how very cool to be able to capture this image! Love the curves on his head. 😀

Leave a Reply

