Day 116 – Skiing in Banff National Park   4 comments

© mike moruzi | insearchofstyle.wordpress.comCertain family members have point out that I was absent from my blog for a few days over the weekend with no explanation whatsoever. I had good intentions to blog. I even had the photos prepped and ready for posting. But, I was vacationing with the family in sunny Banff National Park and though we weren’t exactly cut off from technology, it was less accessible than usual. I think that might be part of the point of visiting national parks. So, while I didn’t have a lot of spare time or handy access to technology to compose my blog postings, I also just felt a small break from posting wouldn’t be too big a violation of my post-a-day commitments.

My wife had a conference to attend in Banff so while she did that, I took the girls to see the sights. First up, skiing. It would be wrong to go to Banff in ski season and not go skiing so on Friday, we spent the day at Sunshine Village. I’m pretty game to bring my camera just about anywhere, but hauling around a DSLR on the slopes while you’re teaching a six-year old to ski is not for me. She’d also probably get tired of the camera swinging around and bouncing off her head as I helped her down the tough parts of the hill. Purely thinking of her (of course) the camera stayed behind in the hotel room safe. Luckily, the iPhone fits easily in the pocket and does a passable job.

At Sunshine, they have 12 lifts covering 3,358 acres and 107 runs. On the night we arrived, the mountain got about 20cm of fresh snow. It was still snowing when we set out, but by the time we got up to the top, the snow had stopped and the clouds had cleared. It was sunny and warm (about -5C). By the time the afternoon rolled around it was about 10 degrees warmer and the snow was getting a bit sticky. We had a blast, but discovered a bit late in the day that we should have remembered sunscreen. We all got a bit of a burn, especially me and my forehead. Darn that receding hairline!

Today’s photo was captured using the Hipstamatic app on the iPhone 4.

4 responses to “Day 116 – Skiing in Banff National Park

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Iphone 4 looks like a good bit of kit for those occasions.

  2. I’d say the iPhone hipstamatic is a sufficient stand-in. Great photo.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful time! Hipstamatic certainly worked in this shot. 😀

  4. I always like to see what others create with their iPhones! All of your photos are fabulous, by the way.

Leave a Reply

