Day 121 – Reflecting   4 comments

© mike moruzi | insearchofstyle.wordpress.comI captured this image from the bridge over the Bow River in Banff, Alberta. If you haven’t been to Banff, you should definitely put it on your list. Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, it is an ideal spot from which to enjoy the great outdoors. There’s something about being surrounded by the Rockies that just warms the soul and cheers the spirit.

I grew up out east, far from the mountains, but I’d become accustomed to them after living in Vancouver for a few years. During our years in Australia, one of the things I missed from Canada was real mountains. Well, Banff is surrounded by them. I can’t wait to go back in the summer months when the hiking trails are open.

Processing notes: This is another HDR image, processed from three bracketed shots using Photomatix Pro. I used a graduated neutral density filter (Nik Software – Color Efex Pro) to bring down the exposure of the sky a bit and to brighten up the foreground a bit. I used Silver Efex Pro (Nik Software) to do the black and white conversion, the toning, vignette and the border. I also used Silver Efex to selectively tweak the lighting throughout the photo.

4 responses to “Day 121 – Reflecting

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Strong contrast photo.

    I suck in landscape photography, so forgive me for asking this; why do you convert it into B/W? Because I imagine the color would be one of the focal points here…

    • When I worked this photo in colour, I found the colours were a bit flat because the light was a bit flat. Basically it was really muted blues and greens. Since I’m a big fan of mood, textures and grain I tried converting it to B&W. In the end, I felt it was a more powerful image in B&W.

      Based on your comment, I went back to the photo to look at it in colour again. I tried tweaking it a bit, but I just don’t think it particularly works. In case you’re interested though, I popped it onto my –flickr photostream-. Let me know what you think.

      • I checked the photo, and as I said in Flickr:
        “I like this one (the color version) better than the B/W…
        The B/W has stronger impression, but I still prefer this one (the color version).”

        Thanks for the response, though 🙂

  2. Moody and dramatic. I am detecting “consistency of style”. 🙂 Gorgeous! I see a lot of pics of “my” mountains, but never one quite like this! Maybe send a query about cards or prints to the Mountain Art Gallery. http://www.banffmountainart.com/

Leave a Reply

