Day 129 – Love it or Hate it   16 comments

Hot Dog Stand in Winston Churchill Square in EdmontonA couple of days ago, I mentioned having an intentionally heavily processed HDR image of a hot dog stand in downtown Edmonton. Well, here it is. I put it out there knowing full well that there are lots of people who hate this sort of thing and lots of people who really like this sort of thing (the technique, not this particular image).

One of the most interesting things I find about HDR images is the extent to which this technique is polarizing for so many photographers. One thing I’ve always enjoyed about photography is experimenting whether it’s with the camera or during post-processing. There’s so many different ways to create images, I don’t think we should avoid one approach over another. I prefer to experiment with different techniques.

Speaking of which, it’s been a little while since I tried something really different. Any ideas out there for new shooting or processing techniques I should try? I’m always game to try something new!

16 responses to “Day 129 – Love it or Hate it

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nicely done. I feel like so many HDR images try to pass as normal images. I love that you’ve overprocessed it and made it clear to the viewer that it was intended to be over the top. I need to learn more about HDR, you’ve inspired me again Mike!

    • Thanks Jess. I read a blog the other day ranting about how he hates when people pass of HDR as more realistic. I’d not heard people referring to HDR as ‘more realistic’ before. I just like how it helps me bring detail out of the highlights and shadows, and obviously the artistic effect in some cases is cool too. Looking forward to seeing more HDR from you!

  2. Love it!

  3. I really like this, Mike. It appeals to my comic-book sensibilities and tastes. I’d put this on the wall of my kitchen – very colorful and interesting and invites conversation.

    Zac Domagalski
  4. Hi Mike,you´ve raised a good point here, i love HDR and it´s the fashion at the moment, some photog´s just work in HDR, that´s O:K but it can get boring (not your work co´s it´s great)! To produce great HDR, you need a great photographic eye, which you obviously have .So why not experiment with new styles, or even with old styles, very soon this will be the standard photography format, some of the new Digital cameras have HDR built in with the presets! I reckon it´s time to move on-just my personal opinion!
    I´ve been following your blog for a while now, it´s a source of inspiration for me, keep it up and any new things you discover i´d love to know about!

    Adrian Harvey
    • I’ll keep my eye out and my creative hat on to come up with some new ideas or, as you say, some old styles. I have lots of old stuff that I used to do with film that might be worth revisiting.

  5. I’ve always admired people who go their own way. I love this image!

  6. Ahh, the HDR debate! Personally, I think it takes more processing and photography skills/talent to get the “realistic” look in an HDR (and of course, not saying this image didn’t take skill nor other HDR shots out there). I tend to lean towards more realistic in my HDR images, although, I really really love how clouds look in an “over processed” HDR image. 😀
    As far as other techniques, I don’t think I’ve seen many panoramic shots, perhaps give that a go? Stitch 4 to 5 images together? Ohhh, stitch HDR images together! 😛

  7. My 2 cents is that as long as their is an artistic conceit behind an image, which you obviously put into the picture above, then the processing type is side-story…in the end it’s a visual aesthetic and should be judged on the merits and affectation. Some HDR I like, some I love, and some I don’t care for at all. There are some guys that do amazing uber-processed HDR I’ve encountered on Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/andregovia/), but a lot of it I don’t care for, but it is definitely artistry, and for that reason, I can appreciate it by its conceit. HDR can create some dramatic effects with technical ease with recent software developments, but it still requires sound artistic skills to move it from “cool looking” into something more powerful.

  8. This shot stands out (sorry pun reflex). I like the intensity.
    I do think that HDR can range in degree of intensity and style. Some HRD work looks more like a photograph while others looks more like a photo-realism painting – http://www.arthistoryarchive.com/arthistory/canadian/images/KenDanby-The-Red-Wagon-1966.jpg
    – and I think those who don’t respond well to HDR images probably have a discomfort with the style of painting as well.

Leave a Reply

