Day 141 – Trust Me, This One’s Different. Well, It’s Actually the Same. But Different.   9 comments

Orten Frame Cherry BlossomYes, it’s another cherry blossom, but I promise it’s the last (for now). The flowers are all withering now so I’m out of time. As the title says though, I’ve chosen a different approach here. Back in the good old pre-digital days, a friend of mine and I enjoyed making slide-sandwiches. That is, we took two slides, removed them from their slide carriers and put them together carefully aligning the two images to create a composite. We then snapped them back into their slide carrier and voila! Slide sandwich.

There was a process we used (he used it first – I just followed the master) called Orton Frames (or the Orton Method). The process involved two over-exposed images of the same subject – one in focus and one very much not. The two images are then combined to create a correctly exposed image with both a sharp and softened focus creating a dreamy kind of image with warm, saturate tones.

Somehow it’s just not as satisfying a process since the tactile nature of the process is gone. Now it’s just duplicate the layer in Photoshop, apply a Gaussian blur and change the blending mode to multiply. Fuss with the layer opacity a bit until you’re happy and that’s it.

Somehow it the images seemed so much more satisfying when I had to shoot them separately and combine them and align them by hand. Doing this with Photoshop is just a bit disappointingly easy.

Posted 30/05/2011 by Mike Moruzi in Uncategorized

9 responses to “Day 141 – Trust Me, This One’s Different. Well, It’s Actually the Same. But Different.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The best in my humble opinion. This image has lovely dreamy look and colour combination!

  2. One of my found memories when I was studying was working a the dark room. I loved the whole process, from developing the negatives to projecting the image on the paper and watching it come alive in a wash of chemical fury. Excellent image, as are all the images I have seen on you sight

    Astra Wally

  3. What an interesting process, thank you for providing it. I may have to try this sometime. 😀

  4. Nicely done. The blue in the background, from the lighter hues to darker, really make this pop for me. So what do you think the end result despite the contrast in method? Does PS version measure up?

    • With this method, it’s all about photo choice. When I did it on film, I clearly had to shoot with the end in mind. Now, I can just pick pictures after the fact and have at it. I feel like the film approach produced darker, richer tones more naturally. I can shift the tones to whatever I want in Photoshop, but it somehow feels like a bit of a cheat. Long winded answer – I’m happy enough with the result, but I don’t think I’ve really nailed it. I’ll just have to keep trying.

  5. Hey Mike, just tried this method-and it worked.OMG reading your blog is like having your own private tutor,thanks for sharing the insight with us all-definately got some homework for the next month or so,keep up the good work!

  6. Pingback: Dispersed Populace « Blog Archive « Photographs by David Williams

Leave a Reply

