Day 143 – Cheating. Just a Little.   3 comments

Blue DahliaToday’s photo is one from the archives. My rules say I’m not supposed to post the old ones, hence, the cheat. I’ve been working on a few things lately (like getting my Facebook page up – drop by, click Like! 🙂 ) and getting my website to a state that it’s ready to launch. Bottom line is that it’s been a few days since I’ve had the camera out of the bag.

There’s no post-processing on this image (other than a narrow vertical crop). The flower is a dahlia. It’s sitting in an empty hourglass-shaped vase in front of some curtains with the sun shining through back-lighting the scene. I shot the image with a 100mm lens set to f2.0. A white reflector in front bounced some light back onto the flower so it didn’t just become a silhouette.  The blue tones were captured by shooting this with a tungsten white balance.

3 responses to “Day 143 – Cheating. Just a Little.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. very dreamy. I like this lots, cheat or no.

  2. That the description I was looking for Karen 🙂 I love the color, light and softness of this picture. Well done 🙂

  3. Excellent creative shot. Bold in its simplicity.

Leave a comment