Day 158 – Everything Old is New Again   5 comments

© mike moruzi | insearchofstyle.wordpress.comOnce upon a time, I had this picture of a rose. I thought it was a pretty decent picture (as flower pics go) when I shot it about seven years ago. Until yesterday, I was still pretty happy with it. That is, until I reworked it with a few select textures. Now the original looks flat, and boring to me.

When the weather turns around (it’s cold and raining in Edmonton these days) I’ll actually get out and shoot with the specific goal of exploring textures, but for now, everything in my back catalogue is available for a do-over.

Regarding the processing notes that I usually include in my postings. I didn’t include anything yesterday and I wasn’t going to include anything today because the process of applying textures isn’t a step by step approach. I find it involves a lot of trial and error. There are techniques that I’m using, but they’re not in any particular order.

In general though, I start by selecting an image with a clear subject. I then open in PS and make a copy of my background layer, adding a mask and brushing out the background so my subject is isolated. This gives me my primary layer with my subject. This is the most time-consuming part of the process, especially if your edges have a lot of detail. Getting the mask right so it doesn’t look like you took a pair of scissors to the original photo takes time, heavy magnification and a lot of feathering.

I keep a white layer beneath the primary layer so I can tell if I have any gaps in my mask. Once I’m happy with the mask, I start trying textures above and below the primary layer. Some work, some don’t. Sometimes I copy the mask (from the primary layer) onto a texture layer to control the area the texture is affecting. Moving layers up and down changes the outcome as well. On each layer, I experiment with the blending mode and the opacity until I find something I like.

I find Overlay and Soft Light work well as blending modes for texture layers, but they can lead to unseemly hot spots in the image and that where the burning tool comes in handy.

Then, as I mentioned yesterday, you just have to decide when you’re happy enough with the image to call it done.

5 responses to “Day 158 – Everything Old is New Again

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fantastic!

  2. This is amazing, Mike. Red has that instant drama, but the way this composition smudges, smears, burns, etc., just amplifies the affectation even more. It’s somewhere between watercolor painting and vintage photography. Unique!

  3. The more I see your pictures and Davids with texture and creativity I wish I would have insisted on making time to watch the creativelive show 😦

    I will get to it someday 🙂 Great image. I look forward to seeing more.

  4. Hi Mike, I love the textured version, you started with a strong image first, and that is important I think.
    I love the muliple images you have on your blog as well.

  5. Pingback: Impressionistic Flowers « Blog Archive « Jconn Photo's Blog

Leave a Reply

