Day 188 – Kicking Horse River in Yoho National Park   8 comments

In the foreground is Kicking Horse River in Yoho National Park. I believe that’s Chancellor Peak off to the right. This is a combination of six shots merged into a panorama. I was planning to return to this spot for some long exposures at dusk and after dark, but this ended up being one of the last shots I was able to capture before my camera failed just two hours later.

This scene is the setting for a really well-placed campground (Chancellor Peak campground) at the south entrance to the park. Camping in the national and provincial parks throughout BC is a real pleasure. The only drawback I’ve found is that if you’re travelling along the TransCanada Highway, you’re also following the rail tracks. If you don’t chase campgrounds well off the highway, then you’ll be regularly listening to freight trains rushing passed in the night.

 

8 responses to “Day 188 – Kicking Horse River in Yoho National Park

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely Landscape !

  2. In my youth I spent a week backpacking Yoho. In fact, as I look up my gaze rests on a framed picture of a deep valley defined by a score of glacier laden mountain peaks. When I took this picture I was standing close to a waterfall drop (twin waterfalls not in the picture). I’d love to go back. Yoho is a very beautiful park. Thanks for bringing back that memory!

  3. Beautiful composition. Yup that is Canada – colour of water, sky and the green – the same in B.C. or North Ontar-i-o. I’ve had the train sound experience. To me, it was another piece of Canadian history coming to life.

  4. Great Shot. I have to try panos more. For most of my trip through the mountains I got nothing but rain and clouds. Its still fun but not as picturesque.

Leave a Reply

