Day 189 – Maligne Canyon, Jasper National Park   5 comments

Maligne Canyon in Jasper National Park is one of the places I tried to get to this past January as I’ve heard it’s spectacular in the winter. Speaking to the rangers, the trail was pretty unsafe when we were there and definitely not appropriate for kids (and we were travelling with the kids). The rangers told us it was pretty easy for someone to slip and just go shooting off into the canyon if they weren’t careful. Not wanting to lose the children, we decided to take a pass.

During the summer however, the whole area is much more accessible. Hiking trails, fences, etc. all make it safe for the whole family. There are even multiple access points for people who don’t want the long hikes. You can arrive at the top of the canyon or at the bottom. The path goes from bridge to bridge starting from “1st Bridge” and working down through “6th Bridge” and beyond. Each bridge offers great vantage points from which to view the cascading Maligne River as it wends it ways down through the canyon.

 

 

 

5 responses to “Day 189 – Maligne Canyon, Jasper National Park

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful! I really like the misty water and how it contrasts with the dark recesses in the rock. In fact, I like it so much that the bridge and people sort of distract, making me wonder what it would look like if the top was cropped off.

  2. I actually tried a crop, but it looked a bit squashed to me. I agree with you and I often wish the trappings of civilisation weren’t all over the place – it would make for cleaner pics. Sometimes though, I think I need to move on and include people in my pictures too. They’re part of the story of Maligne Canyon too.

  3. Amazing! The water looks really great! I saw the picture on wordpress and it invited me to visit your blog!

  4. This reminds me of some other picture I found some where… Oh well must be a mistake!

Leave a Reply

