Day 217 – Kookaburra Sits On The Old Gum Tree   2 comments

A year and a half ago, we were camping northeast of Melbourne. We had found a campground that was nestled around a lake whose name is eluding me at the moment. We hadn’t been there before, but based on the state website, it sounded good. We arrived on a hot afternoon. The sun was high in the sky and the temperature was in the low 30s (C). The camp sites  themselves were dry and sandy, but they were surrounded with a lot of greenery.

As we were getting out of the car I sent the kids off to check out the lake “just on the other side of those bushes” (as per the map) and I and the wife started setting up the tent. The kids came back about five minutes later telling us there was no lake. Well, I don’t know about your kids, but when mine say they looked really hard for something, it usually means they had a quick glance around and whatever they were looking for didn’t jump up and say hello. I rolled my eyes and took them in hand to see what there was to see.

Needless to say, they were right. There was no lake where the map clearly showed there was a lake. Our campsite was there, the fire pit (as per the map) was there. The tie-ups for the boats were even there. But no lake. Ok, we thought. That’s a bit of a mystery, but there’s a park ranger about five minutes back up the road. We’ll just go ask.

Speaking to the 20-something ranger, I learned that the lake had receded some years back. I asked if we could walk to the lake from our campground. She said “Sure, but I’d pack a lunch”. Turns out the lake was some 3km from our campground. I see. I asked her if the campground had actually been lakeside in living memory and she said “not mine”. Not in her living memory has the lake been camp side. Interesting. On further questioning, I learned the lake had actually dried out back in the 80s. They were actually really excited this year because the lake was deep enough to take boats out on it.

I think now I know why these particular kookaburras were sitting in their old gum tree having a good old laugh at us.

2 responses to “Day 217 – Kookaburra Sits On The Old Gum Tree

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice !

  2. Lake Eppalock! And what’s most surprising is that the map hadn’t been updated in all that time!

Leave a Reply

