Day 219 – Duck!   4 comments

Okay. So, if I’m going to continue telling camping stories, I have to admit something about the way we camp. I have to admit to being a car camper. Sure, we tent. We’re still roughing it. Sort of. But I must also admit to using air mattresses. Back in my youth, I remember roughing it with one of those flat blue pads that you roll up and tie with nothing more than a piece of string. In grade 12 I even did a 24 hour solo and camped out in the snow with nothing but a sleeping bag and a big sheet of plastic tarp for a tent.

Since then, I’ve grown soft. Comfort has apparently become a higher priority. We graduated from the blue mats to thin, self-inflating sleeping pads. They’re okay, but a bit thin. Most recently, we’ve shifted to full-size inflatable air mattresses. The kind you might put out for guests in your home if all the real beds were full. Honestly, I’m still a bit embarrassed. It really kills my camping cred when the air mattresses come out. To make it worse, we now fill our air mattresses with an electric pump that we power from the car. Back country campers we are not.

On the bright side though, I like to think we now save lives. A little while back, we had set up camp and were just watching the campground slowly fill up as we prepared dinner. A couple in a car pull up next to us and get their tent setup. Like us, they enjoy the comfort of air mattresses. Unlike us, they did not have a pump. I realized they didn’t have a pump when the woman had her boyfriend turn on the car and then she held the valve on the mattress to their exhaust pipe!

Recovering from the shock of this remarkably bad move on her part, I ran to the car to get our pump and brought it over to offer them a safer alternative to the slow-death-by-carbon-monoxide-poisoning that they seemed to have planned for that night. The boyfriend just laughed and said “Yeah, she’s crazy. Does this all the time”.

[sorry, I know that story had nothing to do with ducks, but the duck picture caught my eye tonight.]

4 responses to “Day 219 – Duck!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful composition and great soft colours! Love the idyllic mood in this image…

  2. Oh my! Great story. Perhaps they should add one of those crude stick-man warning symbols of a car exhaust, a blow-up mattress, a stick-person and the big buster symbol over it. For the photograph, the pano ratio really works here and love the warm, slightly muted tones.

Leave a Reply

