Day 221 – Shoot Less. Shoot Slow. Shoot Better.   4 comments

Waterfall, O'Shaughnessy Falls, Kananaskis Country

It seems that bird week got a bit away from me as the week turned into nine days. Looks like I’ve been dragging my heals on my pics from the long weekend spent in Canmore, AB. I’ve finally started getting to those photos and today I’m rolling out number one.

This is O’Shaughnessy Falls in beautiful Kananaskis Country. I captured this image in the early morning hours before the sun reaches down into the valleys between the mountains. It’s a peaceful time of day before the roads get busy. This was the last long weekend of summer and it got very, very busy as the day progressed so I was happy I made an early start.

My goal for this weekend in Canmore was to shoot less, to take more time to compose my images and to come home with a better ratio of hits to misses. I have to confess to being a bit quick on the trigger sometimes. I don’t always take the time to really look at an image through the lens before releasing the shutter. Often when I like a scene I like (before raising the camera), even if I can’t find an image I like through the lens I still take a shot (just in case). Not surprisingly, the picture is no better once I get it home. And I really don’t like sorting through mediocre images to get to the ones I’m happy with.

I saw some improvement over the weekend, but I’m still shooting more than I ought to so this will continue to be a focus area for me. Shoot less. Shoot slow. Shoot better.

4 responses to “Day 221 – Shoot Less. Shoot Slow. Shoot Better.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. great post!

  2. I confess to being an over shooter too:) nice shot!!

  3. love the photo – it does make you want to slow down and just enjoy the view. sometimes it is hard to slow down, think before I click – thanks for the reminder

  4. Beautiful place. Nice shot of the water waterfalls.

    I used to be an over shooter until I came to the same conclusion as you. It was a difficult conscious effort but eventually, I learn to limit myself in how many chances I have to shoot a scene and I always try to compose it the way I want in the camera. And for the most, I do end up with more keepers and I don’t have to crop much.

Leave a Reply

