Day 229 – Rainbow Falls, Whistler, BC   10 comments

Rainbow Falls, Whistler BC

This very photogenic set of waterfalls, called Rainbow Falls, is located in Whistler, BC. To find them, you need to be prepared to do a bit of hiking, but they’re well worth the effort. We spent a couple of hours at the falls and didn’t encounter anyone else. Happily, not even a bear. This is bear country, so the risk was there. In fact, we’d encountered two bears already this day, one less than 10ft from us before we even noticed it. Thankfully the bears weren’t interested in us.

In capturing this image above, I learned to use a feature on my camera I’d never tried before. It was an overcast afternoon and we were pretty deep in the bush and in the small valley made by the river that I was able to shoot with some long exposures from 3s to 25s. I like long exposures, but I don’t actually do them that often. What I encountered in this specific situation was that I was getting some image-ruining camera shake.

I made some attempts to stabilize the tripod, but got nowhere. Finally I realized that the problem was likely coming from the camera itself. So, for the first time ever, I tried shooting with the mirror lockup function turned on. It worked a treat. The mirror lockup function completely eliminated the camera shake.

10 responses to “Day 229 – Rainbow Falls, Whistler, BC

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Outstanding image Mike,mirror lockup is a great feature on the Canon…often use it.

  2. Nice shot, never had the opportunity to take something like this myself but I love the smooth water.

    • I don’t actually have the opportunity often myself. I live in a very dry, very flat part of Canada. No coast. No running water. I so envy people who get to live on the coast.

  3. Nice shot! And love the sepia toning here. I have wondered about the same thing because I have had some tripod shots come out like I had been running around. Definitely will try. But one more shop question, during your long exposures on tripods, do you ever turn your IS off?

    • Thanks Brandon. I actually usually have IS off unless I really need it. I find IS drains the camera batteries too quickly so I only turn it on when I don’t have a tripod and when I’m shooting slow.

  4. WOW!! As I commented one more time this day. Great work with the shutter speed! Impressive!

  5. I just keep coming back to this Mike, i just love it,works so well in monochrome!

  6. Pingback: A Bug, A Beetle and a Fly 2011 « Adrian Harvey Photography

Leave a Reply

