Day 231 – Falls in Cyanotype   8 comments

Rainbow Falls, Whistler, BC

As suggested over the last couple of days by commenters Brandon (of When This Becomes There) and Adrian (of Adrian Harvey Photography) here is one of my recent waterfalls with a cyanotype treatment. I added the toning using Silver Efex Pro which offers some quick and easy preset tones that you can then fine-tune yourself.

8 responses to “Day 231 – Falls in Cyanotype

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Got it Mike,found it on on Color efex pro also, i tried it on some images of my little girl, but obviously it works best with landscape/nature photo´s as you have demonstrated! Superb image, i know you like fat borders, but i think less border,better, just a personal opinion! The Cyan option works really well and i understand what Brandon is saying now!….. Mike, i have to say…..you excel in this medium….beautiful stuff you´re doing, love it in Mono.
    Brandon..you have an eye for composition i would kill for….a natural! i have to rethink everything!
    Thanks guy´s for the insight, keep ´em coming!

  2. I don’t know, Mike. I could go either way. It’s just a strong photograph from the outset. The sepia tone gives it a little more smokey look, and has an “ancient” connotation. I also like what the blue brought out in your highlights, but it might be a hair flatter. All in all, it’s hands down wall art which makes me think a quad of monochromes, tryptych, diptych, etc…

  3. This is beautiful, I like all of your water pics, but this is my favourite so far!

    lyndajeffersphotography
  4. It’s a lovely picture. It brings stillness to my soul – even with the running water. The tight crop makes it almost pop out of the frame. I have been to places with streams like this so many times, and I am always attracted to them. Maybe that’s why I can relate so strongly to the picture. Still your picture convey that beauty of nature that is almost impossible to capture in an image.

Leave a Reply

