Day 249 – Fly By   25 comments

Parrot in Flight

This is a red-tailed black cockatoo shooting past me as I grabbed a few frames at 1/40s. And no, we don’t have any cockatoos here in Edmonton. This shot is a few years old when I was living in Australia. The slow(ish) shutter speed allowed me to capture the motion and the panning allowed me to capture some detail in the bird.

This is a photo that originally had quite vibrant colours, but I found it all a bit distracting. There was so much colour it actually detracted from the image (for me). By removing the colours, I stripped this down to nothing but the bird and its shadow.

The problem with this photo is I think I captured it a moment too late. If I had shot the bird when it was in front of me or coming up to me rather than having just passed me, I would have seen its face and an eye. The image still works for me, but I’d be very interested in seeing the same thing rewound back in time about five seconds.

On another note, I’m always keeping an eye out for new photo blogs that make me stop and look. Found a new blog today – new to me, not new to blogging. If you love artistic images with mood and feeling, you have to check out FATman Photos. There are some very interesting images with a unique eye. Take a look!

 

—–

In case you’re interested (as Jeff mentions below in the comments), this is the original image with no edits save for some dust removal.

 

25 responses to “Day 249 – Fly By

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW! I think this is my favourite of all your shots!

  2. as the old saying goes “sieze the moment” and you did. The black and whitle simplifies the images. great photo

  3. Great shot!

  4. Very nice Mike. I rather like that you don’t see the birds head/face, it adds a certain “feel” which I really like.

  5. Mike, I’m having a good time because I’m seeing a series of great pictures from various people – and this picture of your’s is not the slightest exception. What a wonderful picture >>>>>> and now I’ve just seen that you’re recommending people look at my blog – for which very many thanks indeed!!! I look forward to seeing more of your images. Adrian (aka FATman)

  6. Some interesting work Mike …

  7. I think you’ve captured the moment just fine. I like the mysterious feel to this shot. It made me stare and admire the image. šŸ™‚

  8. WoW!

  9. I love it in black and white, very abstract. Wouldn’t mind seeing the color version, but if it has as much color as I suspect it does, I think you made a wise choice.

  10. Incredible! Like you I wonder what it would have been like coming toward you; however this is still an amazing shot, made great by the BW work! Cheers!

  11. I like the final shot better than the original – get a real feeling of motion from it.

  12. Wow. You managed to capture the speed of the hawk.

  13. Wow, Mike, simply wow. Great camera work and work in post. I love the charcoal sketch feel, and the how it stand opposite to the details in the tail-feathers.

  14. This is very nice indeed – your processing is excellent. And I thought I recognised the bird šŸ™‚

  15. Wonderful in black & white. This shot has a great feeling of speed, movement & power.

  16. Great shot & wonderful processing !

  17. Excellent capture. I think that I prefer the mono version. There is so much movement in the shot, even in the shadow. Superb.

  18. Thanks for your comments about my Maroon Bells photos. I just added a new post with photos from “Haunted Stewart Mansion”

    I really like your birds in flight, not easy to do!

  19. I can see I’m going to enjoy following this blog…good job and I expect to learn a lot ! I much prefer the B&W final version..

  20. I like the B&W conversion. It allows the imagination to play.

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog.

Leave a Reply

