Day 259 – Kananaskis Sunrise   6 comments

Kannaskis Country

This is an image from sunrise in early September in Kananaskis Country, Alberta. This spot is a short drive south from the TransCanada Highway between Canmore and Calgary. It’s a beautiful part of the country with heaps of great opportunities for photos. The sun had just risen over the mountains to my back so it illuminated the mountain face in front of me. The river valley and the grass in the foreground was all in deep shadow. I didn’t have a grad filter so I took a series of exposures and completed this as an HDR image.

Although I took this image in early September, it took me a long time to get it right (at least to my eyes). Early attempts left me feeling cold on this image. I just couldn’t get the colours right so I just set it aside with intentions to come back to it later. I think I finally got it where I want it so here it is.

6 responses to “Day 259 – Kananaskis Sunrise

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great shot. Love the reflection, and how the composition doesn’t have the mountain peak at the center.

  2. Very clean, HDR. Really love how that center line of trees have a sort of gradient effect, going from the dark greens to the lighter.Temperature wise, I think you nailed as it appears to be brisk morning.

  3. Stunning! I live in Calgary, a short drive from where this was taken, and go there regularly. You have done a great job with the HDR on this image; not overdone or lacking. I have enjoyed your images, and this one is no exception. Cheers!

  4. Beautiful!

  5. Supe job MIke!!! The photo looks totally natural to my eyes and a nice composition also. Wish we had mountains like that on this side of the country!

  6. Nice!

Leave a Reply

