Day 270 – What Was I Thinking?!   12 comments

Some days, I have to ask myself “what was I thinking?” deciding to do a daily photo blog. You might notice, I’ve not exactly been keeping up lately. I’ve been pretty busy up until about five days ago. This past week I’ve had a reasonable amount of time on my hands, but some days it’s hard to get the motivation to work on the blog, especially since my camera hasn’t seen a lot of action lately.

I’m keen to get out and take some pictures, but the cold weather is holding me back. At least, that’s the excuse I’m using for the moment.  I need to find my photo mojo again. Winter and I need to reconcile and find our common ground. Not sure we can get along by just staying apart. There’s beauty out there in the snow. Perhaps I just need to bundle up and go for a walk…

For the next few days, I might continue resting on my laurels and using some warm, summer landscapes from my other life down under.

12 responses to “Day 270 – What Was I Thinking?!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful!

  2. That is one unimpressed baby. Adorable, but unimpressed. Nice piccypic

  3. I know what you mean, there are so many things vying for our time and attention that it’s often hard to do all of those things we really want to do. Sometimes especially those things that we enjoy doing the most suffer because of other more pressing demands on our time. I’m more and more aware of how quickly time passes these days and how I can get to the end of the day wondering where all those hours went.

    Like this portrait by the way — nice shallow depth of field, not to mention the very cute subject!

    • Especially when there’s a lot of photo work to do, coming to the blog to do more can be a bit tiring.

      And yes, portraits are a lot easier when the subject is cute!

  4. Admit it. It’s Skyrim! How can one get out and photo with so many dragons to hunt down. I’ve been slacking too. I checked my post count from this time last year and noticed I had dropped off. So my excuse is that I’m just following a tradition.

    Great portrait and you really stuck it on the eyes. I still struggle with controlling that narrow of a DOF and usually have to take about 20 to get it. Nicely done!

    • I admit it! It is Skyrim. There are just so many quests and so many places to explore. Hours disappear in the mere blink of an eye. I think there might be some black magic involved…

  5. A great portrait of a real sweetheart! Masterful use of depth-of-field here! You’ve got the right idea: use warm-weather images to help get yourself motivated in the cold months. Keep up the great work! Cheers!

    • Thanks Steve. You just can’t take portraits without a proper portraits lens, can you. This one was shot with my f2.0 100mm – a gorgeous piece of glass.

  6. gorgeous baby! find joy where you can, good luck finding your mojo.

  7. Love the reflection in the eyes, simply wonderful!

Leave a Reply

