Day 277 – Kata Tjuta   10 comments

Kata Tjuta, The Olgas, Northern Territory

I couldn’t move on from the Red Centre without at least one image of Kata Tjuta. “Kata Tjuta” translates to “many heads” and it’s not hard to see why. Unlike the one, large, imposing rock that is Uluru, Kata Tjuta comprises many separate peaks. Together with Uluru, these are the major landmarks of  Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park.

During our visit to Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, I was struck by just how much plant life there was in the desert. This being my first visit to a desert, I had somehow expected it to be more sandy and barren. As you can see, it’s plenty sandy, but there’s also no shortage of plants in this remarkable landscape.

10 responses to “Day 277 – Kata Tjuta

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This place also looks like an oven. Was this in the summer or in more milder weather? Love the foreground.

    • Brandon, this is the middle of winter. Can’t you tell? Actually the temps were quite comfortable. Something like low to mid 20s if I recall correctly (high 70s?). Sunrise was a different story though. It was pretty close to freezing when I dragged the kids out to see the first light hit Uluru.

  2. Wonderful shot Mike! Great depth of field here; the colours are fantastic; I like the composition too! Cheers!

  3. I enjoy your photographs.

  4. What a beautiful place, and such a great shot – I’ll second Steve on the depth-of-field observation.

    I’m anchored here in Massachusetts, USA by a lack of resources, but if that ever changes, Australia and New Zealand are on my bucket list.

    Keep it coming, Mike. I’m in love with what you’re doing!

    littlebangtheory
  5. Great capture of the beautiful desert. Very nice composition and depth of field.

  6. Good perspective with lots of foreground, very nice.

  7. Beautiful image. Love the composition.

Leave a Reply

