In The Bleak Mid Winter   18 comments

My daily posts are starting to look about as ‘daily’ as ‘The Daily Show’. This weekend though, I had a good excuse. My hard drive with my photo library finally gave it up after a slow, lingering death. Thankfully, the drive was under warranty and backed up. After replacing it on Saturday and reformatting the new one Saturday evening, I restored the contents overnight and I’m back up and running.

It’s time for me to welcome winter to the blog. I made the photo above in William Hawrelak Park, here in Edmonton. It was approaching sunset, which for us is about 4:00pm right now.It was somewhere south of -30C at the time so I didn’t stay out long.   With the weather all warmed up again this week – we’re back around the 0C mark – we’re planning some skating. Just below the tree line on the right hand side you can see the sun reflecting off the ice. That’s a pretty big pond that the city clears of snow and it looks perfect for skating.

18 responses to “In The Bleak Mid Winter

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful!

  2. Beautiful capture. Looks really cold.

    • The weather report actually reported ice crystals in the air. I’d never heard of that, but thought it didn’t sound good. Sounds like the air is actually freezing!

  3. I love the light in your photo. Cold, chilling, but very beautiful.

  4. Great winter capture & love those tones. My external backup sounds like a rattlesnake moved inside. I’m sure I will be doing something similar soon.

  5. Yes, concur with all … beautiful!

  6. I know what you mean about the blog; I’ve been delinquent in my posts too. Might just be the weather blues. Keep plugging away, Mike. With images like this one, you have a wonderful display of your talent. Nice capture!!

    • Thanks Steve! With the weather we’re (including you) having now, the snow is going to be gone soon. I best get out and get some more snow shots really soon!

  7. great picture and a great day to be out taking pictures.
    Mike

  8. Love this shot! Really captures the beauty of an early winter’s morning!

  9. Cool Shot Mike 🙂 I need to get out and shoot more in the winter.

    • I find it a bit hard getting out in Edmonton in the winter and even harder finding something worth shooting. Edmonton can be so bleak in the winter, but there’s more than a few worthy subjects out there. I find that once I get out the door with my camera in hand, I’m glad I went out.

Leave a Reply

