Braving the Cold   4 comments

Seriously, who would force their kids to come out modelling for photos when it’s -30C outside? Not me. I just asked and she agreed. Honest! Still, judging from the pose, there was still a little bit of ‘hurry-it-up-Dad!’ going on.

The above is my first time with a technique or method that has earned the name the “Brenizer Method” (Brandon Brasseaux shared this technique in a recent post). It’s named for the photographer who popularized the method. Mr Brenizer seems to prefer calling it bokehrama because it is simply a panorama shot with a shallow depth of field. The exaggerated shallow depth of field really makes your subject pop.

I shot 49 images, but this is a stitching of fewer than half the images. My decision to select just fewer images was primarily subject size in the frame, but also the processing to include a greater number of images was testing my patience. I used a 100mm lens set to f2.0 for the images. Manual focus allowed me to retain a consistent focus throughout the images.

To give you an idea of my proximity to my model, the initial frame is just her head and shoulders. I was pretty close.

Give it a try if you like, but make sure you leave plenty of time for your computer to crunch away. This is processing intensive.

4 responses to “Braving the Cold

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent execution of the bokehrama, Mike. It’s funny that you mention dropping some frames and keeping only select ones. I did that exact thing in my last post of a roadside marker (went from 35 to 10). I still love the effect, but the more I have messed with it, the more I’ve realized it doesn’t need to be as laborious. I’m even of the mind that you could take one that is tack sharp with most of the frame in focus, and then take another at f1.4 or so, and then slightly out of focus and then just mask the two together.

    • Agreed. When I looked through the images, I’d taken way more than I needed to. Takes some practice to recognize how much overlap is really required to make it work.

  2. Wow, cool technique. Sounds very time consuming! Turned out great!

    • I think it’s time consuming because Photoshop is so processing intensive. I’m looking for better solutions for stitching. I’ve used Hugin in the past, but it drop resolution a fair bit and does side to side stitching well, but it couldn’t handle the above image at all (vertical and horizontal stitching combined).

Leave a Reply

