Drip   7 comments

Water drop

I’ve been going through some old photos lately – slides and negatives – with the intention of digitizing them so I can get rid of the originals that are just taking up space in a closet. I have read great things about http://www.scancafe.com and thought it would be a great way to get the archives scanned. That is, until I counted up the number of frames. I actually don’t have a huge collection, nothing close to what I have in digital, but once I worked out the cost to get someone to scan my images for me, I realised it was cost-prohibitive. I’ve now decided I’ll likely buy a scanner and just selectively scan the stuff that I care about. If anyone has any good scanner suggestions, I’d love to hear them! I’m looking hard at the Epson V600.

One of the by-products of looking at my old images is enjoying some of the fun, mechanical images I used to do. One such collection of images was similar to the image above. At the time though, I was in to more elaborate set ups, enjoying the mechanical aspects of making the image. For those old milk-drop images, I used a crazy construction straight out of Popular Mechanics that triggered a flash by closing a connection as the drop of milk landed in the pool. There were no missed shots because the shot was triggered electronically, but there was a lot of prep.

Today though, I created the above image quickly and easily by just rigging up a bag with a hole in it over a clear baking dish filled with water. As the drops fell, I hit the trigger with a remote release. I used off-camera flash for the lighting, firing the flash at a white background in front of which I had placed a few colourful bottles. I had more than a few missed shots, but the whole thing took maybe 30 minutes from start to finish.

7 responses to “Drip

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A cheap alternative to scanning your slides would be to ‘backlight’ the slides and photograph them using a suitable digital camera. This is also very fast. I used my old Sony DSC-H1 bridge camera on macro setting. It worked very well. There might be a little cropping required to tidy up. There are some guides on how to do this online. It is worth setting up a bit of a ‘rig’ to do this if you intend to do a lot.

  2. Love your choice of limited rainbow colors for the background, refracted in reverse in the drop!

  3. I’ve seen a lot of similar shots, but nothing with such a brilliant rainbow flavour!

  4. Great work, Mike and the colored bottles were a brilliant touch.

  5. Very cool MIke and a great technique. Simple and effective!

  6. The colours are wonderful Mike!!

  7. This is great! LOVE the colours!

Leave a Reply

