Struggling in the Desert   3 comments

Arizona, desert, Wupatki, Wupatki National Monument, Nalakihu Pueblo, scrub, tree

It’s time I bid farewell to Upper Antelope Canyon. It was good while it lasted, but I think I’ve posted enough (unless, of course, I change my mind and post some more later). Moving on from Page and heading south back toward Phoenix, we take a little turn off Hwy 89 before Flagstaff to check out some pueblos in Wupatki National Monument.

Wupatki National Monument was established to protect ancient dwellings of puebloan people. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll actually post an example of one of these ancient dwellings, but before I do, I wanted to first share this portrait of a desert tree. Something about trees in the desert really work for me. I don’t know if it’s the isolation, the determination, the shape of the branches, or something else, but when I see one, I’m almost immediately lying in the dirt with my camera down low grabbing a shot against the desert sky.

3 responses to “Struggling in the Desert

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It looks like it’s been around for quite a while–a real survivor. I’m thinking it might be mesquite; do you know?

  2. I agree, Mike. There is such a raw tenacity on these desert trees . Wonderful tree portrait

  3. Wonderful atmosphere in this shot.

Leave a Reply

