Coming In For a Landing   4 comments

I’ve had this picture for a long time. I originally didn’t care for it. In fact, I cared so little for it that I don’t even have the original image. I cropped it this way a few years ago.

Coming back to this shot today, I found that I actually like the movement, the shape of the bird, its foot out and ready to land, the head turned away as if it has been distracted at the last moment. It is, by no means, a sharp, beautifully focused picture of a bird straight out of a bird book, but I think I like it better this way.

4 responses to “Coming In For a Landing

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This one is testament of great photography doesn’t have to include pristine sharpness. The bird looks a bit worn and ragged, especially on top of it’s head so the toning and grain really helps heighten that aspect. I really like how you captured the beak and those stick-like legs at the same angle pointed down.

    • If popular opinion of my readers is the right judgement of the quality of an image, apparently this one missed the mark for most. It doesn’t change my opinion though – this image is still really working for me. Thanks for your perspective Brandon – you’ve put into words some of the reasons this image really speaks to me.

  2. Cool and spooky….:-)

  3. I like it – great sense of motion and there’s nothing wrong with some grain. Composition, lighting, focus are all important, but not every great image needs to be perfect. It’s the overall effect that counts, and this one works.

Leave a Reply

