Revisiting Texture   7 comments

Salt Spring Island, sailing, sail boat, Strait of Georgia, gulf islands, southern gulf islands, British Columbia, west coast, coast, islands, boat, BC Ferries, sunset, sunrise

Sorry folks, but I’ve been off skiing at Sunshine Village in Banff National Park where they’ve had 9m(!) of snow this year. I even took a break from photography and left my camera at home.

For my first day back from vacation, rather than working on this blog, I worked on a post for Digital Darkroom Techniques (DDT). If you’re curious how I do textures in my images (like the one above), pop on over to DDT for a look. If you have suggestions on how to approach textures differently, I’d love to hear from you.

Since I have no new pictures (did I mention I’ve been skiing without my camera?), I’ve pulled an image from my Salt Spring Island archives to do a little texture work. While the base image is old, the textures are new and I’m sharing if you’re interested. When I was recently in Arizona, we visited the Musical Instrument Museum (MIM) in Phoenix. At the MIM, they have an extraordinary collection of drums and I shot almost every one of them for my texture collection. I’ve shared nine of them in my post on DDT just in case you want to add them to your collection.

7 responses to “Revisiting Texture

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful capture and texture. And yes, I really feel bad you’ve had to spend to spend all this time skiing in Banff 🙂

  2. Very pretty picture…it appears to be on a type of linen. Nice effect.

  3. Looks great!

  4. I love this image — and the texture. Happy to see the link to DDT, so will check it out. I am following DDT, but have missed a lot of updates recently due to being busy with other work — catching up today!

  5. I think the effect really suits this photo. I’ve heard so much about Banff. Canada is calling me.

  6. Beautifully done, Mike! Adrian

  7. I really like this style of texturing, Mike. Didn’t you compose some similar mountain silhouettes in blue tones? This one appears to compliment those nicely.

Leave a Reply

