Passing It On   6 comments

sunny, blue sky, basketball hoops, basketball courts, basketball, shadow, clouds

Today was day two of a set of three workshops that I’m running at my kids’ school. The grade 6 art class has a photography unit that they generally outsource. This year, it’s my pleasure to teach the photo unit to three classes of 11 to 12 year olds. I’ve really been enjoying the workshops. I had a great time developing the teaching material and it was challenging trying to select the course content for such a broad subject given that it needs to be squeezed into just a half day.

The way we finally structured the class is to go through a very quick history of photography and run through the basic technical capabilities of the classroom cameras (Nikon Coolpix L26) discussing focus, exposure and scene modes. They then get 20 minutes outside to shoot. Then we bring them back in, teach them about light and composition and then send them out again with the hope that the second round of pictures are better than the first. They pick their best images, we have a quick Q&A and we’re done. Goes by in no time for me and they seem to be having fun.

When I agreed to do the workshops, my oldest daughter warned me that I needed to do a good job. She said the kids all talk about their teachers and she wanted to be sure that I would make a good impression. Hopefully I haven’t embarrassed her yet…

6 responses to “Passing It On

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice work here. I like the shadows in the foreground

  2. Maybe bc it’s late where I am and I’m randomly free associating, but the first thing that came to mind was — Magritte. Very cool image. (Definitely, please don’t embarrass your daughter 🙂

  3. What a great experience for you and for the kids, will you be able to share any of the images from the kids?

  4. I´m sure you make a great teacher Mike,and if it creates an interest in photography for the young so much the better, keep up yhe good work 🙂

  5. You mean you didn’t do a rundown of 9-exposure HDRs? I’m sure the kids loved it and they still have their ears open at that age.

  6. One of my big concerns, as I head into retirement as a teacher, is the need for more Media Literacy. Cameras and images are ubiquitous in our culture, yet young people have very little instruction in how to read the codes and conventions of an image and how to compose a photograph. We teach them how to compose essays, business letters, reports, but assume they know how to make effective slide-shows or use images . Glad to hear you were able to help add a to their Media Literacy.

Leave a Reply

