Slow Photography   11 comments

Middle Park, Port Phillip Bay, beach, Melbourne, St. Kilda, pier, dock

Today, I’m pleased to share my first image from Melbourne since we arrived in August. I captured this image on Saturday night in a suburb called Middle Park in Melbourne. It’s right next to the much more well-known and more popular St. Kilda. The sun hadn’t quite set yet, but it was low enough for me to shoot this at f16, ISO 100 and 30 seconds. The water was quite rough, in fact it was spraying up over the end of the pier (hence all the water), but the long exposure smoothed it right out. This view is looking south out across Port Phillip Bay.

Hopefully this will be the first in a long series of much more frequent posts this year. It’s all easy while on vacation… I’ll see if I can keep it up once I’m back to work!

11 responses to “Slow Photography

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A wonderfully moody shot for summertime in Australia – they certainly can have four seasons in one day in Melbourne!

  2. Interesting effect on the pier surface – nice texture.

    Thanks for posting your camera settings, most helpful. Now you’re back in Melbourne, I will be following your blog very closely – hope to learn from your experience. I’m really needing some fresh inspiration in 2013.

    victoriaaphotography
  3. Tremendous shot, Mike. I’m always on the lookout for a good pier but can never seem to find one that doesn’t have heaps of signage or other visual noise. The movement in the sky is terrific too. I’m hoping that you’ll find some time to get some more shots up over the holiday break as well. Cheers to 2013!

    • Thanks! This one had a bit of signage on the beach side so I had to get out on the pier to get the composition I was looking for. I still wasn’t thrilled by the fencing, but what can you do? I’m still looking for a better spot. This was just a first scouting trip – I’m still keen to find better spots.

  4. That´s great Mike- looks like a place, that when it´s calm, would be the perfect place for some quiet contemplation at the end of the day! 🙂

  5. Beautiful shot, Mike! Adrian

  6. An excellent beginning to your new year, Mike. May it bring you healthy productivity and frequent satisfaction!

  7. Just gorgeous:) i would love to lesrm that

  8. Wonderful light, Mike. My favorite aspect is how the sun glare is caught right on the edge of the pier.

Leave a Reply

