Slow Photography II   5 comments

Port Phillip Bay, beach, Melbourne, St. Kilda, pier, dock, sunset, couple, calm, slow photography

 

Another in the slow photography category. The sun was still up for this one so I used my new(ish) Marumi variable ND filter which goes from a single stop to about 8.5 stops (ND2-ND400) by including two linear polarizing filters that rotate 90 degrees from parallel to perpendicular. When the two filters are aligned, the light goes through with just one stop of light blocked. When the two filters are rotated 90 degrees to each other, the combination blocks a lot of the light coming through. I used to do this with two linear polarizers back in the old days before most polarizing filters were circular. Thankfully though Marumi was prepared to trade me some of my hard earned dollars for this handy filter.

With the sun still firmly up in the sky, I closed down the variable ND filter to its darkest point, then dropped the ISO to 50, closed down the aperture to f22, and squeezed out 13 seconds of exposure before the highlights were getting too out of hand.

5 responses to “Slow Photography II

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely image, Mike. If you haven’t guessed, I really love long exposure photos and this ones a cracker! I’ve never tried a variable ND filter – they were a little too much for what I was prepared to pay. Reading this gets me thinking now… πŸ˜‰

    • The Marumi was a bit dear – around $200+ if I recall correctly. I really wanted something I could just screw on the front of my lens and be done with. The Lee Big Stopper was one I read about, but I never found one locally.

  2. Surreal and dreamy. I’m enjoying the slow shutter series, Mike.

  3. Lovely image I must say. I love images with slow shutter. Your ND-filter seems to be very interesting. I wonder if I can buy one here in Sweden. Must look for it. Have a great 2013 with a lot of nice images πŸ™‚
    Regards Camilla

Leave a Reply

